Create a new group of users for a firm

Groups allow users to communicate and establish connections with one another. A user's group membership is particularly important for Group Connections, such as Shoutdowns and Ringdowns, which are assigned strictly from trading desk to trading desk. If a user has not been added to the relevant group, they will not be able to create or access connections associated with that group.

Admins will first create a group, then assign group members:

For further group management, learn all the ways to add users to a group.

Provision a new group for the firm

  1. Select the Groups tab on the Cloud9 Admin Portal.
  2. Select the Create Group button.

  1. Under the Group Details section, select the required Firm and enter the Group name.

If the firm has been recently created, it is highly recommended to set the new group as the Default Group. This ensures that any new user accounts created in the future will automatically be assigned to this group, saving you time.

  1. The Community Listing Information section is not required in order to create the group. However, it is beneficial to add the group's location information. This helps external counterparties accurately identify the trading desk and avoids confusion when traders are searching for the correct group to send connection invitations to.

  1.  Under Visibility Settings, set the options as required:
    1. Display group in Community list – controls external visibility. When selected, the group can be found by other firms in the public Cloud9 Community directory.
    2. Display group in company list – Controls internal visibility. When selected, the group is visible to employees within your firm in their internal directory.
    3. Make address visible in Community - If address details have been entered in the optional Community Listing Information section, selecting this option allows external counterparties to see the group's location (city, state, country) when viewing it in the public directory. If this option is not selected, the address remains hidden from external users, even if the group name itself is visible.

 

  1. Select Create Group to create the new group.

Assign users to the group

Once the new group has been created, users can be added in bulk.

  1. Search for the group you created in the Group Name column.

  1. Hover over the group in the table and select the Manage Users button .
  2. Select Add Users.

  1. Search for users and select the checkboxes next to users you want to add.

  1. Click Save to assign the selected users to the group.