Duplicate private chat room name error

A user may receive an error message stating This name is already in use. Please choose a different one when attempting to create a private chat room (Figure 1):

 

mceclip0.png

Figure 1 Error message

By default, Allow Duplicate Private Room Name in the Admin Portal is disabled and therefore does not allow private rooms with the same name to be created. This is done to avoid users joining, or sending a message to the wrong room with the same name.

If you wish to create a room with the same name as another, you must disable the original room or check with your internal IT team about enabling the Allow Duplicate Private Room Name functionality.

 

Note: Only a room owner can disable a room.

 

Once either of these 2 options are performed, you will be able to create private rooms with the same name.