Messages

To be able to send messages, you must first create a direct chat or chat room with the people you want to contact.

Create a room

  1. Tap + in the bottom right corner of your screen.
  2. Select Create room.

  1. Enter the chat room information, including a Room Name, Room details, and Members.
  2. Tap Create in the top right corner of your screen to start the new chat room. 

Create a chat with one or more members

  1. Tap + in the bottom right corner of your screen.
  2. Select Start chat.

  1. Type the name of the person you want to chat with, then select their name.
  2. Repeat this step to add more people.
  3. Tap Start.
  4. Type your message and tap Send

Join a chat room

  1. Tap the Search icon in the top right corner of your screen and select Rooms .
  2. Enter the name of the room.
    1. If it is a public room, tap the name to join it.
    2. If t is a private room, tap the name and answer YES to send a connection request to the room owner and wait for approval.

Also note that some rooms are not visible in search results.

View the chat details

  1. To view information about a chat, tap the chat name at the top of the chat.
    1. Tap Members to view all room members and their roles.
    2. Tap Attachments to see any files sent in the room.
    3. Tap Preferences to view or change the permissions and settings of the room.

Add members to existing chats

Depending on the room preferences, only room owners may be able to add members. Owners are always listed at the top of the members list you access from the chat details.

  1. To add people to a chat room, tap the chat name at the top of the chat.
  2. Tap Members.
  3. Tap Add.
  4. Search or select the members you want to add.
  5. Tap Save in the top right corner of your screen.

Update chat room owners

Chat room owners can make other room members an owner, or remove them as an owner.

  1. To promote or demote a room member, tap the chat name at the top of the chat.
  2. Tap Members.
  3. Long press the member’s name and select the Make an owner or Demote option.

mceclip2.png        mceclip3.png

Deactive a chat room

  1. To deactivate a chat room, tap Preferences in the chat details.
  2. Tap Deactivate.

Send files

  1. To send an attachment file, tap the Attachments icon.
  2. Select the file.
  3. Tap Send.
  4. To take and send a photo, tap the Camera icon.

  1. To remove an attachment file before sending the message, tap the x in the top right corner of the attachment.

Message actions

  1. To access the Message actions menu, long press the message in the chat.
  2. Save, reply to, forward, copy, or remove the message.
  3. Tap the three dots menu to view the message info, pin a message, or remove your own message.

       

Leave a chat room

You cannot leave a room if you are the only chat room owner. Another user must be promoted to an owner before you can leave.

  1. To leave a chat room, tap the chat name at the top of the chat.
  2. Tap Preferences to view or change the room settings.
  3. Tap Leave Room.
  4. Tap OK to leave the room.

To follow news and keep in track with the new released features of the Symphony Mobile app, have a look at the latest Mobile Release Notes.

If you require further assistance on mobile, please contact the Symphony Support team at support@symphony.com